Gingerbread Playdough: Intoxicating


So if you’ve gone against your better judgement and allowed playdough into your home, might I suggest making the gingerbread variety. This is playdough with a bunch of spices in it like what one might put in gingerbread. I love the smell and so do the kids. The scent stays on their little hands for a while, it’s just magic.


I try my hardest to keep the playdough in one location. I usually set kids up with the dough at the dining room table. Any movement away from the table happens without the dough. All dough remains at the table. Playdough will fall on the floor. If you have a rug it will become embedded in the rug. It will. Any hope, or trust you have in your children will only blind you to this inevitable outcome. Once you have accepted this and moved on, I think the gingerbread dough is a quality choice. A bonus is that it’s brown and dries a light brown color that isn’t as obnoxious as, say, one of the primary colors.  Playdough gets stuck to my children’s clothes as well. I do my best to pick off the chunks and so far the rest comes off in the wash..


So get all the little rolling pins and baking gear and cookie cutters going. I throw two little chairs on the table too. The kids pretend they are ovens. 

When the they get bored and climb down from the big table I give it a few minutes then lock it down/ tuck in the big bench and put the Playdough into a ziplock bag. All the accessories go into the Tupperware container we stuff them in, and just like that there’s only the warm, spicy scent left behind.

That, and what’s been added to the rug.

Recipe:

1 cup flour

1/4 cup salt

2 tsp cream of tartar

1 cup water

2 tbsp oil 

2 tsp cinnamon 

2 tsp ginger

1 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp cloves 

Stir everything in pot/saucepan over medium heat until it starts forming a big clump. There’s a point when it starts to come together when I always think “this doesn’t seem right,” but it’s fine. It just gets weird when the texture starts to change.

I usually add more cinnamon, I use the recipe as a guide as far as spices go.

Link to where I found original recipe:

Homemade Gingerbread Play Dough Recipe

Leave a Reply

